Larissa Jones Profile Picture
  • image December 1969
  • image English
  • image All Boroughs

Larissa Jones

Nanny and training post graduate child nurse

image years experience image Age 26 image Lives in
  • image Bio
    I am an enthusiastic, fun, hard-working, and reliable 25year old looking for a part time job alongside my studies. My main passion is helping people; I love making a positive difference to the lives of other. I have obtained a degree in Health and Nutrition, however since graduating in 2017 I have been nannying and working abroad with children. Throughout my studies and working abroad I have come to the true realisation that my dream career is to become a paediatric nurse and work in a children hospice or with children suffering with mental health issues. I have recently started my postgraduate two year paediatric nursing course in Southampton in January 2020. Outside of work I enjoy being active in an outdoor environment and seeking adventure through traveling and exploring different countries and culture around the globe, learning through practical life experiences. I am a very bubbly, energetic and a caring individual who is always smilling (my nickname is even smiller). I enjoy working with people of different ages, abilities and cultures as part of a team and independently.
  • image Qualifications
    Education


    Currently studying a Post graduate in child Nursing at the University of Southampton - Jan 2020- December 2021.





    September 2014- July 2017 - Trinity St David University, Carmarthen


    BSc-Health, Nutrition and Lifestyle- 1st class honours


    September 2011-July 2013- Pembrokeshire College


    CACHE Level 3 Diploma in Child Care and Education


    September 2006-June 2011- Brecon High school


    GCSE’s: English Language (b), English Literature (b), Maths (c), Science (c),


    Religious Studies (b), BTEC Sport (c), Computing (a), Geography (a),


    Welsh (d) & Catering (b).





  • image Experience
    Experience


    January 2020- Started my postgraduate two-year Paediatric nursing degree at Southampton University.


    Currently placed on Neonates ward at Queen Alexandra Hospital, Cosham, Portsmouth since 29th June 2020, but also done various shifts on the child assessment unit, general children’s ward and Child and adolescence mental health team (CAMHS).


    September 2019- one-week as a holiday nanny in Menorca Spain for a lawyer from Africa, nannying for her adopted 5-year-old daughter. This was one of my favourite nannying experiences as it brought back all my memories of working in Ghana West Africa- a special place in my heart as I realised here that I wanted to become a paediatric nurse through the volunteering work I carried out. During my time in Spain I went on many trips to the beach, to the zoo, shopping, the pool, out for food and evening entertainment with the family. I worked 12/13-hour days with the family.


    June 2019- September 2019- Nanny for a family of two children (aged 6 & 8) just outside of New York in the USA. The family I am nannying for run three summer camps which I am able to take the children to on a daily basis, as well as helping out on the children’s hospital ward during my time off as the mum is a paediatric nurse. I am very excited for this experience. For the final two weeks of summer camp I will be working in a camp for children with cancer. I am very excited for this once in a lifetime opportunity and for all the new skills I will learn along the way.


    December 2018 – April 2019- Freelance holiday nanny in a ski resort in Morzine, France. Each week I cared for a different family, sometimes two families depending on times of bookings. The ages of the babies and children I cared for ranged between 0-12 years. The youngest I cared for was 10 weeks old. Parents would usually book a nanny six days a week 8.30am till 5pm whilst they are out skiing for the day. Tasks includes sticking to the parent’s routine with nap and feed time, as well as nappy changing, bottle feeding, cooking, cleaning etc. I loved to get the children out as much as possible and keep active, so we had plenty of outings including rides on the bubble lift up the mountain, walks, playing in the park and snow, swimming, horse and sleigh rides, sledging to name a few. I also made sure we had some down time either painting, drawing, reading stories, lego etc and always kept the parents up to date on WhatsApp on how their child is with lots of photos of our days out so they knew we were having lots of fun and to put their mind at rest. As well as nannying during the day, I also did evening babysitting (average 3-4 nights a week) which depending on the age and start time, I would feed the children, have playtime or downtime and put them to bed. I had the best winter of my life working as a holiday nanny, it was magical being there for Christmas and also seeing some of the children’s first-time seeing snow.


    July 2018- November 2018- Childrens rep for TUI First Choice Holidays in Costa del sol Spain Holiday Villages. My main role involved working in the creche with babies aged 0-2 years as well as the different holiday club groups for children aged 3-16 years. Daytime sessions were split into four 2-hour sessions, each consisting of a theme and a number of related games, competitions and activities. Examples include, superhero academy, little chefs (lots of baking), bouncing bunnies (fancy dress, face paint and a session on the aero ball trampolines), messy takeover, clown academy, Olympic sports and many more. I also co-hosted kids parties three evenings a week (7-11pm), ranging from kids discos, chocolate and sweetie parties, movie nights, space adventures etc. I also was involved in team day every fortnight on a Tuesday, which involved all staff hosting a number of poolside activities for the guests such as a series of dad’s competitions, water polo, charity swim to morocco in the outside pool, facepaint, hair braiding, kids pool party dances, competitions etc. Some sessions I was This was an amazing experiencing being a big kid for the summer and ensuring the children have the best holiday of their lives.





    Feb- July 2018- - Teaching assistant and learning support for an agency, working in different schools in my local area. I have worked with children 4-11 years of age and abilities, as well as working as an LSA in a secondary school supporting a child with hearing impairments.


    Planning and setting up age and ability specific activities, following session plans - e.g. aqua Olympics, paddle boarding and kayaking in the pool, superhero academy and many other themes.


    • Delivering and promoting kids’ parties- e.g. chocolate and sweetie parties, pyjama night, movie night etc.


    • Meeting the needs of the children- including safety, hygiene, changing nappies, risk assessments etc.


    • Signing children in and out of kid’s club- communicating with their parents and guardians.


Need something specific?

Let's Discuss